Letter to the Reader:

There is this big question that is constantly in the back of my mind as I go through my daily tasks of running this publication: can an electronic magazine such as the Neworld Review find a following online and become as useful and important to writers and the literary community as printed versions of the old Saturday Review and the presentday New Yorker?

What I can tell from looking at the stats is that we now have tens of thousands of readers from all over the country, as well as around the world, and every issue we have published thus far, is in play. We average from 300 to 1,000 hits a day.

I can also tell from reading the time spent on articles that visitors are staying with many of the articles that we publish, and giving them the attention they deserve (If online publishing gives you anything, it’s stats).

***

Meanwhile, I am certain that this issue is sure to bolster our reputation, and bring us even more visitors. I read most of Return to the Road, Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg: The Letters, edited by Bill Morgan and David Stanford, before I sent it off to Neworld Review’s contributing editor Sarah Vogelsong to get her take on the book. I was struck while reading these letters just how seriously Kerouac and Ginsberg viewed creative writing.

   This wasn’t the fun-loving, anti-ideas of Camp that soon followed The Beats. The letters exchanged between these two creative writers, one a poet, the other a novelist, are filled with thoughtful, firmly held, passionate ideas. It is hard to imagine this kind of intimate, serious, deeply felt written dialogue taking place between two young people of any background today, which is why Return to the Road is of great importance to literary history.

I found Sarah’s essay highly involving, and felt she held true to the spirit of the letters, capturing a time and place where the positive transformative power of creative writing is more than just an idle notion.

***

Please keep the hits coming, and tell your friends about us. And if there is something you would like to see in the Neworld Review, follow the example of Allen and Jack and just write me.

Fred Beauford

Editor-in-Chief
/Publisher



garage restaurent ad garagejazz.com link

Neworld Review
Vol. 3 No 14 - 2010

Editor-in-Chief
/Publisher

Fred Beauford

Art Director

Bernie Rollins

Managing Editor

Margaret Johnstone

Editor-at-Large

Jan Alexander

Senior Editor

Herb Boyd
Jill Noel Shreve

Online Managing Editor

Richard D. O'Brien

Contributing Editors


Herb Boyd
Loretta H. Campbell
Sally Cobau
Janet Garber
Molly Moynahan: Writers' World
Lindsey Peckham: Art Beat
Katherine Tomlinson
Sarah Vogelsong

The Neworld Review is a publication of Morton Books, Inc. Rob Morton, President/CEO, in cooperation with Baby Mogul Productions, 78 Randolph Avenue, Jersey City, N.J. 07305, 201-761-9084.

Material in this publication may not be reproduced in whole or in part without permission. Opinions expressed by contributors do not necessarily reflect the views of the publishers.

Manuscripts should be accompanied by a self-stamped envelope. Online submissions are accepted at E-mail.

Neworld Review cannot be held responsible for unsolicited photographs or manuscripts.

All correspondence to:

Fred Beauford

Editor-in Chief/Publisher

123 Town Square Place
Suite 384

Jersey City, N.J. 07310


E-mail



Archives

VOL. 1 NO. 1 2008

VOL. 1 NO. 2 2008

VOL. 1 NO. 3 2008

VOL. 1 NO. 4 2008

VOL. 2 NO. 5 2009

VOL. 2 NO. 6 2009

VOL. 2 NO. 7 2009

VOL. 2 NO. 8 2009

VOL. 3 NO. 9 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 10 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 11 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 12 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 13 2010

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR


Dear Fred:

I ENJOYED YOUR WRITING, PS 113 (Olinville) did good by you. I'm a 68 yr old white guy Edenwald Alum - Olinville dropout, and retired Det. Sgt. Your recollections about prehistoric Edenwald are amazingly accurate. Do U know that Richard Price, Clockers author, is an Edenwald guy too ? (after our age group).....take care.

Oj Hughes

This Month's Articles

PROFILE

On the QT
A profile of poet Quincy Troupe

by Herb Boyd


quincy troupe

Okay, quickly.  Who is the Poet Laureate of the United States?

   W.S. Merwin. Very good.

   Now, who is the Poet Laureate of New York?

   You mean there is one?

   How about Harlem?

   Wasn’t that Langston Hughes?

For all intents and purposes, but never in an official way, Hughes was the Poet Laureate of Harlem.   But there is a small coterie of literati, the cognoscenti of letters who insist that Quincy Troupe would be a nice choice today.

Indeed.  And particularly so when you take a gander at his resume, his published works, his teaching creds, and his impressive track record as a “C.C. Writer,” the C.C. in this case being the cultural circuit.

“I just got back from San Francisco where I received the Before the Columbus.....Read More



ESSAY

Return to the Road
Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg: The Letters

edited by Bill Morgan and David Stanford


An essay by Sarah Vogelsong


the letters cover

My first thought upon seeing Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg: The Letters in the front window of my local bookstore was why has it taken sixty years for this collection to be put together? But the Beat Generation is not much in favor these days, despite our persistent national awe of Kerouac’s On the Road. The silence that has attended this movement may be due to 9/11, or the ongoing strain of war and recession, or perhaps the sense that a generation that found its way by blithely hitchhiking through all forty-eight states while throwing themselves upon the mercy of kind strangers, has nothing to say to our society today, which increasinglybelieves that we are not safe, and have much to fear. We are a serious society these days, committed to accountability, responsibility, and lying in the bed that we tore apart and left in disarray.

The Beats were not accepted .....Read More



REVIEWING

The Devil in Pew Number Seven

Rebecca Nichols Alonzo with Bob DeMoss


Reviewed by Jill Noel Shreve


devil in pew cover

“Even though Daddy struggled to appear brave, the anguish in his eyes spoke volumes. Splotches of blood stained his shirt just below his right shoulder. The inky redness was as real as the fear gnawing at the edges of my heart.” In her first memoir, The Devil in Pew Number Seven, Rebecca Nichols Alonzo opens her story in the kitchen of the house she grew up in, her father on the floor, shot by a man lurking in the front bedroom of her house, holding hostages, waiting. Alonzo’s father, fading in and out of consciousness, turns to her and asks the seven-year-old Rebecca to run. “You’ve got to be a big girl…you’ve got to run as fast as you can to Aunt Pat’s house…tell her to call the law.”

Set in the 1970’s in Sellerstown, a rural town in the southwestern part of North Carolina, Alonzo opens the door to her volatile life and to the years when a man terrorized her family. After hooking her audience with the armed....Read More



MEMOIR

…and Mistakes made Along The Way

Excerpt from a memoir by Fred Beauford


Chapter nine-- A slow awakening


Hanging out in the projects with the fellows was now history, and something I was totally uninterested in, even if there were no more fellows left to hang out with.

I now was free to pursue a woman who had asked me for my photo when I was home on leave. For most of the time in the army, I had fantasized that this lovely young person wanted my photo because she was madly in love with me.

Years later, I found myself rhapsodizing to.....Read More



A WRITER'S WORLD

Milton’s Daughter

by Molly Moynahan


william faulkner

Recently, I became the hired gun of the English department of an extremely wealthy, highly rated high school on the North Shore of Chicago. Teachers take maternity leave while I assume their classes, usually filled with nervous, pressured, motivated, yet, like all teenagers, ready-to-devour-any-hapless-adult-alive, charges. Last spring I was asked to teach Faulkner’s Go Down Moses in two sections of AP Literature.

Now, Faulkner is not my guy. I’m a Woolf, Joyce, Ellison, Hemingway, Cather and Alice Munro kind of woman. The south doesn’t knit into my bones. I get the lost immigrant thing from my native Irish grandmother, but not so much the horrendous irony of a country founded on freedom from oppression, while institutionalizing the worst form of human brutality that ever existed. In graduate school, I read The Sound and the.....Read More



REVIEWING

Nashville Chrome

by Rick Bass


Reviewed by Sally Cobau

nashville chrome cover

In Rick Bass’ newest novel, Nashville Chrome, he teases out the story and reveals the heartache, endurance, and pure brilliance of the early country trio, The Browns.  The story highlights the story of the eldest Brown, Maxine, but also includes the story of her younger siblings, Bonnie and Jim Ed.  Making appearances in this country music tale are Elvis, and surprisingly, The Beatles (the Browns toured with the Beatles early in their career).

This slice of American country music history is indeed fascinating.  Who knew that, according to Bass, the Browns paved the way for so many country rock stars, with their perfect harmonies and classy style.  Yet this style was also their undoing.  Soon country fans expected and craved a more raw and earthy sound.  Their friend Elvis and all the others left them in the dust.

The story begins as many country singers’ stories do, in the back hills.  In this case, the back hills were Pine Bluff, Arkansas.  Daddy Floyd was a heavy drinker, who.....Read More



REVIEWING

Twilight Forever Rising

by Lena Meydan


Reviewed by Katherine Tomlinson


twilight forever rising cover

Lena Meydan is a best-selling fantasy author in Russia, where they take fantasy seriously and don’t consign it to a geek ghetto the way fantasy and its blood-brothers, horror and urban fantasy, have been shoved aside in the U.S.  Shoved aside until recently, that is; fantasy in all its guises—dark, epic, urban—is now driving the publishing industry, feeding a seemingly insatiable reader’s appetite for vampires, werewolves, and all creatures paranormal. 

    This novel straddles the line between dark fantasy and horror/romance, with its tale of warring clans of vampires and humans who are oblivious to their existence, but it has more in common with Machiavelli’s The Prince than it does with Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

    Twilight Forever Rising is a terrible name for a very good book.  Meydan’s prose is simultaneously lush and clean, dense with sensory input, and yet remains uncluttered—as if the writer were the love child of Tanith Lee and Ekaterina Sedia.  (The book is gracefully translated by Andrew Bromfield.)  The love story.....Read More



Art Beat - OCTOBER 2010

Art Beat

By Lindsey Peckham


Tradition Transformed at the Rubin

tradition transformed

   What an accidentally politically charged Art Beat do we have in store for you this month! It must be midterm election fever, because almost all of the exhibits I visited this month have important political undercurrents, and all provide valuable lessons as to the importance of cultural and personal expression regardless of the political landscape. First up is the stunning “Tradition Transformed” at the Rubin, a collection of works by nine contemporary Tibetan artists who, though trained in the strict Buddhist tradition, defy convention and produce colorful, complex prints and paintings that are nothing short of mesmerizing. Take an afternoon to really appreciate the strong creations by artists who’ve overcome racial, cultural and especially geographical barriers to produce.....Read More