Letter to the Reader:

Endings and Beginnings

As you well know, America can be a place filled with intemperate expressions. The recent Mid-term elections made that absolutely clear.

I try to avoid them as much as possible, but when I read Senior Editor Herb Boyd's review of The Warmth of Other Suns—The Epic Story of America's Great Migration, by Isabel Wilkerson--in an instant, my mind was filled with hateful images, and to call the language I was using in my inner self, intemperate, was to be the sissy of sissies…

I have yet to read her book, but this is a story I know well, because it is a part of the media history I once taught, and it is also about who I am as a fully realized human being.

All at once words like fascism and barbarism, words I had not wished for, suddenly plagued my mind, and reminded me once again that I was born in a world very different than most Americans.

The mass migration of blacks emerging from the south to escape an oppressive life, is one of the great sagas of human history, and is a tale that should be told over and over again, despite the buried hurts, denials and passions it evokes.

So, I tip my hat to Isabel Wilkerson and hope you buy her book; and I tip my hat to Herb Boyd for suggesting the review.

***

I did not start this publication solely to promote my own works, no matter how much they clearly deserve to be promoted. However, as I check the stats daily (my own private Facebook, if you will), I can't help but notice the ongoing interest in my memoir, …and Mistakes Made Along the Way, both by the enormous number of hits; and more importantly, by the average time spent on each chapter.

To quote that salty old white-haired Staff Sergeant I wrote about in my Elvis chapter, "I ain't blind."

However, it must all come to an end with this issue. I have come to the last segment of part one.

As a media historian, and someone who fully understands how serialization has worked in the past, I couldn't resist trying this out in this century to see if it still had the same potent power (I was fully aware of Candace Bushnell's success with her serialization of Sex in The City in The New York Observer in the late 20th Century).

I can confidently report back that serialization is alive and well, at least online. I hope you stay with the final chapter of …and Mistakes Made Along the Way, which I also hope will sum up volume one of (a planned) two volumes. And thank you, you have been a great audience. Hopefully, a hard copy of the book will be released in 2011.

***

It is also with great delight that I welcome a new writer to our pages, Michael Carey, a transplanted Southerner from the Gulf. This is his first review for the Neworld Review, and his first published article. So it seemed fitting that his first review would be of poet Philip Stephens' first novel, Miss Me When I'm Gone. I read the novel with great pleasure and feel that Stephens has a great future as a novelist, and that Carey should have a long, fruitful and productive future as a writer in the Big Apple.

This issue is about endings and beginnings.

Fred Beauford

Editor-in-Chief
/Publisher



garage restaurent ad garagejazz.com link

Neworld Review
Vol. 3 No 15 - 2010

Editor-in-Chief
/Publisher

Fred Beauford

Art Director

Bernie Rollins

Managing Editor

Margaret Johnstone

Editor-at-Large

Jan Alexander

Senior Editors

Herb Boyd
Jill Noel Shreve

Online Managing Editor

Richard D. O'Brien

Contributing Editors


Jane M McCabe: History
Loretta H. Campbell
Sarah Vogelsong
Janet Garber
Sally Cobau
Michael Carey
Katherine Tomlinson
Lindsey Peckham: Art Beat
Molly Moynahan: Writers' World

The Neworld Review is a publication of Fred Beauford, 3183 Wilshire Blvd,
Suite 196,
Los Angeles, CA. 90010.

Material in this publication may not be reproduced in whole or in part without permission. Opinions expressed by contributors do not necessarily reflect the views of the publishers.

Manuscripts should be accompanied by a self-stamped envelope. Online submissions are accepted at literarylife1@hotmail.com.

Neworld Review cannot be held responsible for unsolicited photographs or manuscripts.

All correspondence to:

Fred Beauford
Editor-in Chief/Publisher

Neworld Review
3183 Wilshire Blvd,
Suite 196,
Los Angeles, CA. 90010


E-mail



Archives

VOL. 1 NO. 1 2008

VOL. 1 NO. 2 2008

VOL. 1 NO. 3 2008

VOL. 1 NO. 4 2008

VOL. 2 NO. 5 2009

VOL. 2 NO. 6 2009

VOL. 2 NO. 7 2009

VOL. 2 NO. 8 2009

VOL. 3 NO. 9 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 10 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 11 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 12 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 13 2010

VOL. 3 NO. 14 2010

This Month's Articles

REVIEWING

Miss Me When I’m Gone

By Philip Stephens


Reviewed By Michael Carey


quincy troupe

Philip Stephens, an award winning poet and author of the poetry collection, The Determined Days, once said, “At their best, short stories contain the germ of a novel, and there’s no reason poems can’t do that as well.” The stories told in his acclaimed poetry seem to have developed, grown, and flourished in his first novel, Miss Me When I’m Gone.

Stephens presents to the reader the beautifully described image of the declining town of Apogee, Missouri and its surroundings, speckled with colorful and amusing characters that add levity even as they propelthe story.

Miss Me When I’m Gone centers on the Harper family. Their youngest son, Cyrus, is a folk musician without recent success. A review .....Read More



REVIEWING

The Warmth of Other Suns—The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration

by Isabel Wilkerson


Reviewed by Herb Boyd


book cover

There was a time, around a decade or so ago, that I was delighted and looked forward to reading one of Isabel Wilkerson’s articles in the New York Times.  Not only would the topic be of abiding interest, her skillful writing always managed to take it to another level of appreciation and insight.   Everything about her taste, her style, her way with words, rang with conviction and authority.

Clearly, I was addicted and then came the withdrawal symptoms when I discovered she was no longer at the paper, leaving me with no idea of why or wherefore she had gone.

Holding her heavy tome—and I mean heavy in weight and wisdom—it is evident where she’s been, and if this isn’t selected for one of the top literary awards there is no justice.....Read More



A WRITER'S WORLD

"Pay Attention to the Pause!"

by Molly Moynahan


"I don't get it, Mom. You don't have a real job but you're always busy." My sixteen-year old son made this remark one morning when I was busy reading Vogue, staring into space and patting the cat.

"I'm a writer," I huffed. "Anyway, I do have a job." I was teaching a part-time ACT/SAT prep course two hours a morning. And writing a memoir, revising a play, constructing a blog and keeping up with the endless list of reality TV shows Bravo had forced me to watch.

"Yeah, but that's not a real job. I work all day. You…" he looked at me closely. "What do you do all day?"

This busy thing struck a nerve. My son had noticed.....Read More



REVIEWING

Trials of Zion

by Alan M. Dershowitz


Reviewed by Janet Garber


book cover

Alan M. Dershowitz is an amazing man, by anyone’s standards. and he has nothing to prove to anyone.  He’s one of the best known criminal and civil liberties lawyers and a staunch defender of Israel, the Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law at Harvard Law School, and author of hundreds of articles and 30 books.  According to the biography on his website, he has “written, taught and lectured about history, philosophy, psychology, literature, mathematics, theology, music, sports – and even delicatessens.” A Renaissance man, in short.

But why does Dershowitz feel the need to pen a thriller?  To draw on his unique insights into the legalities at issue in the Mideast, to dramatize the troubled.....Read More



MEMOIR

…and Mistakes made Along The Way

An excerpt from a memoir by Fred Beauford


Chapter Ten—Social Action



The answers to my many problems would soon come my way. First, I was able to solve the problem of fees. At the outrageous cost of $75.00 per credit, NYU was among the most expensive schools in the country (we won't even talk about what it currently costs per credit, many year’s later). I discovered that by working for the university, they would cover the cost for up to eight credits, just the amount that I was taking.

The day I walked into NYU’s personnel office, I couldn’t have been happier, because lo and behold, who should be sitting behind the desk interviewing me but a fellow by the name of.....Read More



REVIEWING

The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe

by J. Randy Taraborrelli

Reviewed by Jane M. McCabe

marilyn monroe

Marilyn Monroe came from ordinary if somewhat odd people. Born on June 1, 1926, in the charity ward of Los Angeles General Hospital, she was the illegitimate daughter of Gladys Monroe, a woman whose mental instability was such that by the age of three, Norma Jean, as she was called, was placed in the foster home of Ida and Wayne Bolender, where she remained until she was nine years old.

She was befriended by a friend of her mother’s, Grace McKee, who took custody of her. When Grace remarried she felt she had no choice but to place Norma Jean in an orphanage. It was Grace who saw her potential for show business and encouraged her to become an actress.

Despite the phenomenon that Marilyn became and notwithstanding her extraordinary career in show business, her life was.....Read More



REVIEWING

Freedom

by Jonathan Franzen


Reviewed by Sally Cobau


jonathan franzen

     Weird, isn’t it?  You’re reading Jonathan’s Franzen’s new novel Freedom, kicking into a pleasant reading groove, when you start to recognize yourself--specifically the way you talk—in the main character, Patty.  Scary.  Especially when you begin to understand why Patty talks this way, using slang and the word “weird” to undercut what others are saying and to convey everything from lethargy to anger.   “Weird” isn’t the correct word to use at all, it’s a misnomer in fact, but using the word only fuels Patty’s disdain for those around her (“they wanted sociopathic, they wanted passive-aggressive, they wanted bad. They needed Patty to select one of these epithets and join them in applying it to Carol Monaghan, but Patty was incapable of going past “weird”).

She’s maddening to be around and.....Read More



Art Beat - NOVEMBER 2010

Art Beat

By Lindsey Peckham


Collette Blanchard Gallery


emergency contraception photo

Jessica Ann Peavy

Emergency Contraception


This Lower East Side gem of a gallery is featuring single-channel videos by Jessica Ann Peavy through the end of the year; videos that act as confessionals for four characters who divulge their romantic encounters. It's a fourth wall-shattering trick, and as a result, we as audience members call into question the truthfulness and ultimately the integrity of the confessors, as their stories twist and overlap, juxtaposing the mundane with.....Read More



REVIEWING

Kraken

by China Mieville


Reviewed by Katherine Tomlinson

the letters cover

China Mieville's Kraken begins with the theft of a giant squid and the massive, formalin-filled tank where it was displayed at London's Darwin Centre.  The crime is so odd and so logistically complex—the dead squid was nearly nine meters long—that it baffles Billy Harrow, the curator of mollusks at the Centre and the man in charge of the crowd-pleasing exhibit, even more than it intrigues the police. 

The theft of the squid they called "Archie" (for its scientific name Architeuthis dux) leaves Billy oddly disoriented, as if something about the squid's presence had been anchoring him and now he's .....Read More